Federal Labor commits to Victorian Pride Centre

Victorian Pride Centre Federal Labor Announcement APNThe Victorian Pride Centre has welcomed the Australian Labor Party’s announcement that, if elected, it will commit $10 million towards the construction of this iconic building.

“The Victorian Pride Centre will be a safe, welcoming and inclusive place for all LGBTIQ Australians,” said Victorian Pride Centre Chair, Jude Munro AO. “It will be an Australian landmark that celebrates diversity, inclusion and community.”

As an independent, bipartisan entity charged with building and operating the Victorian Pride Centre (VPC), the Board welcomes support from all parts and levels of government. The VPC Board also acknowledges the work of the Federal Government in supporting our application for Deductible Gift Recipient status.

The announcement builds on significant commitments to date from the Victorian Government made by Martin Foley MP, Minister for Equality, and Cr Bernadene Voss, Mayor of City of Port Phillip and Councillors.

The Pride Centre will be a place of belonging for Victorian, national and international LGBTIQ people, their families, friends and communities. These funds will support the Pride Centre in realising its vision of building the most well-known, loved and visited place for LGBTIQ people.

The VPC Board acknowledges the additional commitment of $600,000 to the community radio station JOY 94.9. This investment will enable the VPC to meet the needs of the other resident organisations, community groups and visitors.

“The Board will continue to engage with our diverse and vibrant communities to meet the ongoing financial needs of the Pride Centre,” added Stuart Kollmorgen, Deputy Chair and Chair of the Fundraising Committee. “We want all of our community to feel a level of ownership and personal stake in the Pride Centre.”

For more information about the Victorian Pride Centre, visit: www.pridecentre.org.au for details.

Image: (L-R) Stuart Kollmorgen (VPC Deputy Chair), Scott Hartley (Board Member), Frankie Lai (Board Secretary), Megan Smith (Board Member), Tanya Plibersek MP, Neil Pharaoh (Candidate for Prahran), Josh Burns (Candidate for Macnamara), Martin Foley MP, Justine Dalla Riva (VPC Comms), Stacey Halls (VPC Coordinator) and Jemma Bates (VPC Project Manager) – courtesy of Victorian Pride Centre