Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras Announces 2020 Awards Winners

SGLMG Parade 2020 Sydney Opera House - photo by Richard HedgerEach year, the Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras Awards honour and thank the extraordinary community groups and volunteers who go above and beyond to help deliver the world-renowned and inspiring festival.

2020 Mardi Gras Volunteers Awards:

Special Commendations:
Isaia Akava, Kylie Brown, Christine Carey, Andrew Endycott, Darren Kelly, Ty Owen, Michelle Rayner

Excellence in Innovation:
Katherine Hudson, Joel McKinnon

Excellence in Service:
Warren Bishop, Edie Falios

Excellence in Leadership:
Rick Stone, Kim Williams

Excellence in Teamwork:
Ron Boyd, Charlie Steele

ICARE Awards:
Ronald Del Castillo, Sharniya (Rina) J Hind

Special Acknowledgements:
Adrian Hinder, Konstantinos Ziotas

Volunteers of the Year:
Aiden O’Dea, Sarah Pearce

2020 Mardi Gras Fair Day Awards:

Special Commendations:
Bear Bar, Nomos Legal, Quakers, Service NSW

Best Standard Stall:

Best Community Stall:
Sydney Gaymers

Best Sports Stall:
Street Roller Hockey Chix Club

Fair Day Stall of the Year:

2020 Mardi Gras Parade Awards:

Special Commendations:
Asian Marching Boys and Friends, Colours of Our Community, Fire and Rescue NSW, GLADD – Gay and Lesbian Association of Doctors and Dentists, Guide Dogs NSW ACT, NSW Rural Fire Service, NSW State Emergency Service, Trans Glamore

Best Choreography:
The Evolution Dancers

Ron Muncaster Award for Best Costume:
FLAGCOM and Friends

Best Float Design:
Le Petit Bateau art collective

Best Individual or Small Group:
Gay Aged Gap Relationships

Ron Austin Award for Most Fabulous Parade Entry:
Sydney Opera House

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Teresa Leggett

To read more about each award recipients, visit: Volunteers Awards, Fair Day Awards, Parade Awards and Lifetime Achievement Award for details.

Image: Sydney Opera House Parade Participants – photo by Richard Hedger