Little Miss Sunshine

AAR New Theatre Little Miss SunshineBased on the Academy Award-winning film, New Theatre presents, as their last show for the year, James Lapine and William Finn’s Little Miss Sunshine in a Sydney premiere season from 12 November 2019.

The Hoover family has seen better days. Richard, the father, is a less-than-inspiring motivational speaker; Grandpa’s been kicked out of his retirement home for bad behaviour; Uncle Frank has recently tried to kill himself after his boyfriend dumped him; moody teen, Dwayne, has taken a vow of silence; and much-put-upon mother Sheryl grits her teeth and holds it all together.

But energetic and optimistic Olive, the youngest Hoover, believes the world is full of possibilities, and enters a children’s beauty pageant. Seeing a chance to change their luck, this dysfunctional and fractious family packs their beat-up Combi, and embarks on a cross-country journey from New Mexico to California, chasing the coveted title of ‘Little Miss Sunshine’.

Adapted from the Academy Award-winning film by the Tony Award-winning team of James Lapine (Into the WoodsSunday in the Park with George) and William Finn (Falsettos, 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee), this delightful musical comedy about pursuing your dreams is filled with warmth and humour and guaranteed to charm.

Following her huge success with Nell Gwynne last year, Deborah Jones returns to direct this outrageously funny and surprisingly touching musical. “Back in 2006, the film had such an impact on me,” says Jones. “Dysfunctional family with a capital D. It covered all the basics – being gay, addiction, being broke, being heartbroken and to top it off being dead. I could relate!”

“With rehearsals having been underway for a couple of months, Lapine and Finn are certainly keeping me on my toes. It’s challenging, but I count myself fortunate that I’m surrounded by a talented bunch of Sydney’s best, who are all committed to creating a wonderful show and at the same time are great fun to work with,” she adds.

Director: Deborah Jones Featuring: Kiera Dzeparoski, Sarah Furnari, Aneke Golowenko, Martin Grelis, John Grinson, Ellacoco Hammer McIver, Gavin Leahy, Christopher O’Shea, Fiona Pearson, Julian Ramundi, Grace Ryan, Adam van den Bok Musical Director: Laura Heuston Choreographer: Victoria Ferris Set Designer: David Marshall-Martin Lighting Designer: Michael Schell Costume Designer: Bobbi Rickards Sound Designer: Dana Spence Voice & Dialect Coach: Linda Nicholls-Gidley Assistant Director: Garth Saville Assistant Musical Director: Thomas McCorquodale Production Manager: John Short Stage Manager: Jo Jewitt Deputy Stage Manager: Sarah Walsh Assistant Stage Manager: Phoebe Atkinson, Karen da Silva, Bella Ridgeway Operators: Ricci Costa, Vishal Shah

Little Miss Sunshine
New Theatre, 542 King Street, Newtown
Season: 14 November – 14 December 2019 (previews: 12 & 13 November)
Information and Bookings:

Image: Little Miss Sunshine – photo courtesy of New Theatre