Mardi Gras Announces 2020 Awards Nominees!

2020 Mardi Gras Parade - photo by Jeffrey Feng PhotographyThe annual Mardi Gras Awards are an opportunity for the Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras (SGLMG) team to honour and thank the extraordinary volunteers and community groups who go above and beyond to help deliver their world-renowned and inspiring festival.

In these uncertain times, SGLMG realise that hosting an Awards event will be impossible over the next few weeks, so rather than delay deserved recognition of all your hard work, the 2020 Mardi Gras Awards winners will be announced online on their website. Trophies and certificates will be sent out to the fabulous winners as soon as possible after the announcements.

“Volunteers have always been the backbone of Mardi Gras,” said Co-Chairs Jesse Matheson and Mel Schwerdt. “They’re the ones working behind the scenes in the workshop, sewing costumers and assisting with bump-in and bump-out. They’re also at the forefront of what we do, providing first aid at our main events, helping people up Parade route or around Fair Day and providing leadership around the board table or on one of our committees.

“The diversity of roles they fill for Mardi Gras, the time they take out of their lives to give back to their community and the level of skills and experience they bring to Mardi Gras is mind blowing! Volunteers are instrumental both throughout the year and in delivering our two-week Mardi Gras festival. These awards formally recognize the outstanding efforts of volunteers in our community and, for some, a lifetime of involvement. We congratulate all the winners and thank them for their efforts!

“In our eyes all volunteers are champions. So if you happen to not win an award this year we want you to know that we recognize and appreciate all of you for committing your time, skills and passion to help us celebrate Mardi Gras and hope you will continue to work with us for many years to come! The show can’t go on without you!”

The 2020 Mardi Gras Awards Nominees:

Volunteer Awards:
Adrian Hinder, Aiden O’Dea, Andrew Endycott, Charlie Steele, Christine Carey, Darren Kelly, Edie Falios, Isaia Akava, Joel McKinnon, Katherine Hudson, Kim Williams, Konstantinos Ziotas, Kylie Brown, Michelle Rayner, Rick Stone, Ron Boyd, Ronald Del Castillo, Sarah Pearce, Sharniya (Rina) J Hind, Ty Owen and Warren Bishop.


Best Standard Stall:
Nomos Legal
Service NSW

Best Sports Village Stall:
Harbour City Wrestling Inc.
Street Roller Hockey Chix Club

Best Community Stall:
Sydney Gamers
Girl Guides

Fair Day Stall of the Year:
Deaf Rainbow
Bear Bar


Best Choreography:
Lifesavers With Pride Inc
The Evolution Dancers
Different Strokes Dragon Boat Club

Ron Muncaster Award for Best Costume:
The Oz Fag Hags
FLAGCOM and Friends

Best Individual/Small Group:
Rainbow Butterfly Gold Coast
Gay Aged Gaps Relationships
Wonder Mama

Best Float Design:
Newcastle Pride
Trans Pride Australia
Le Petit Bateau art collective
Trans Pride Australia

Ron Austin Award For Most Fabulous Parade Entry:
Trans Pride Australia
Sydney Opera House

SGLMG will announce all the winners, including the 2020’s Lifetime Achievement Awards, later this week. For more information, visit: for details. Congratulations to all the nominees!

Image: Participants in the 2020 Mardi Gras Parade – photo by Jeffrey Feng Photography