LGBTIQA+ Ministerial Taskforce Members Announced

APN-Pride-Progress-FlagVictoria’s LGBTIQA+ communities will have a stronger role in ensuring the Victorian Government’s nation-leading policies are well-informed and respond to their needs with new members appointed for the next term of key advisory bodies.

Acting Minister for Equality Steve Dimopoulos is pleased to announce new and returning members for the fifth term of the LGBTIQA+ Taskforce and Working Groups and thanks all outgoing members, who will finish their terms with final meetings throughout December.

“Each member of the Taskforce and Working Groups is greatly valued for their commitment to fostering an inclusive environment for LGBTIQA+ communities in Victoria,” said Acting Minister for Equality Steve Dimopoulos

“This work is nation-leading and especially important in a year when we have seen an increase in discrimination and hatred towards LGBTIQA+ communities. We must continue to work together towards a Victoria where everyone can feel safe, supported, and equal regardless of their gender or sexual orientation.”

I thank our outgoing members for their contributions and welcome new members joining this important expert advisory committee,” said Minister Dimopoulos.

The LGBTIQA+ Taskforce and Working Groups provide an important channel for the voices of LGBTIQA+ communities into government, building a pathway alongside the government’s LGBTIQA+ Leadership Program. 

Minister Dimopoulos applauded new and returning members who were selected through an open and competitive recruitment process, reflecting the strength and diversity of Victoria’s LGBTIQA+ sector and leaders.

Minister Dimopoulos congratulated community co-chair Adam Bourne and members Jayde de Bondt, Antoinette (Tony) Briffa, Karen Bryant, Margherita Coppolino, Janet Jukes, Elvis Martin, Sean Mulcahy, Alex Potter and Dean Sutton on their appointment as members of the Taskforce.

The Health and Wellbeing Working Group provides expertise on health services, mental health and public health related issues. Alex Potter is appointed as community co-chair alongside Noushin Barghi, Deb Chumbley, Tom Dickson, Tara Laursen, Jemma Mead, Simon Ruth and Ricki Spencer.

The Justice Working Group advises on civil law, criminal law, policing and corrections. Sean Mulcahy is appointed as community-co-chair together with Aimee Cooper, Jean Dinco, Jamie Gardiner, Ryan Hsu, Janet Jukes, Danijel Malbasa, Jasmine McGowan and Cassandra Martin.

For the first time, Michael Galea MP has been appointed as parliamentary co-chair of each of the Working Groups.

Over the next two years, the groups will focus on building leadership and capability, enhancing LGBTQIA+ metropolitan and regional networks across Victoria. For more information, visit: for details.

Image: Pride Progress Flag (sourced)