2019 Australian LGBTI Awards Winners Announced

Francesca Curtis and Phyllis Papps - photo by Lisa Maree Williams (Getty Images)Last night, comedian Jordan Raskopoulos, YouTube star Alan Tsibulya and Community Advocates Francesca Curtis and Phyllis Papps were just some of the incredible community leaders to win awards at Australia’s biggest awards dedicated to celebrating the LGBTI community and their allies the 2019 Australian LGBTI Awards.

Other winners include: pioneer activists Francesca Curtis and Phyllis Papps, who took home the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award; ABC’s You Can’t Ask That won the Public Award for Film, TV, & Web Series; and SBS took out the Brand award for the second year in a row, as well as the Marketing award.

Co-hosted by much-loved SBS presenter Patrick Abboud and comedian Jackie Loeb, the evening saw the who’s who of the LGBTI community descend on The Star for the special red carpet gala. Attendees included winner of I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out of Here Richard Reid, Lucy Lawless (Xena: Warior Princess), and comedian Joel Creasey.

“We’d like to extend a massive congratulations to all of our incredible award winners tonight,” said Australian LGBTI Awards Director, Silke Bader. “Their tireless efforts have been vital in the push for equality, opportunity and fair treatment for all, and there’s no doubt that we wouldn’t have come this far along without their contributions.”

Over 2,000 people were nominated across 18 categories including International and Local Icon of the year, Sports Personality, Ally, Brand and Marketing Campaign, Community Initiative/Charity and Inspirational Role Model.

There are two main groups to the awards, the Public Award Category and the Corporate Award Category. The Public Award categories are entirely decided by the public vote. Award Winners are listed below!

For more information about the Australian LGBTI Awards, visit: www.australianlgbtiawards.com.au for details.

Image: Francesca Curtis and Phyllis Papps – photo by Lisa Maree Williams (Getty Images)


Ally Sponsored by Carsales
Sharyn Faulkner

Monica Hingston

Music Artist – Sponsored by The Star Event Centre
Mama Alto

Film, TV & Webseries
ABC – You Can’t Ask That

Artist Sponsored by NOVA
Ben Graetz aka Miss Ellaneous

Hero Sponsored by Amazon
Georgie Stone

International Icon Sponsored by Coca Cola
Brendon Urie

Local Icon Sponsored by Rimmel London
Jordan Raskopoulos

Brand & Marketing Campaign Sponsored by IVE Group
SBS Australia

Community Initiative/Charity Sponsored by the NRL
Wear It Purple

Organisation – Sponsored by DE&E

Media Professional Sponsored by BIG W
Alan Tsibulya

Sports – Sponsored by Holden
Karina Brown and Vanessa Foliaki


Diversity Champion – Sponsored by Dow
Chelsea McPhail Rosenberg

LGBTI Employee Network
QBE Insurance

Lifetime Achievement Award – Sponsored by Vodafone
Francesca Curtis and Phyllis Papps

Inspirational Role Model – Sponsored by Bloomberg
Katherine Wolfgramme

New LGBTI Employee Network
Woodside Energy – Spectrum