2018 Australian LGBTI Awards Winners Announced

Australian LGBTI Awards Peter De Waal Joel Creasey, Magda Szubanski and Bindi Irwin were just some of the incredible LGBTI community leaders to win awards last night (Friday 2 March) at Australia’s biggest awards dedicated to celebrating the LGBTI community and their allies at the 2018 Australian LGBTI Awards.

Other winners include: pioneer activist Peter De Waal – who took home the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award; Orange is the New Black – who won the Public Award for Film, TV, & Web Series; the Marketing Campaign Award went to Airbnb; and SBS took out the Brand award.

Hosted by SBS presenter Patrick Abboud, the evening saw an incredible who’s who of the LGBTI community descend on The Star for the special red carpet gala. Attendees included Orange is the New Black‘s Yael Stone and Danielle Brooks, Lucy Lawless (Xena: Warior Princess), and comedian Jordan Raskopoulos.

“A huge congratulations to all of our fantastic award winners tonight,” said Australian LGBTI Awards Director, Silke Bader. “These past months, it’s been amazing to finally starting to see some traction towards equality, opportunity and fair treatment for all. Such great strides would be impossible without their tireless contributions.”

Over 11,000 nominations were received across 16 categories including Celebrity of the Year, Sports Personality of the Year, Celebrity Ally, Brand and Marketing Campaign, Community Initiative/Charity and Inspirational Role Model.

There are two main groups to the awards, the Public Award Category and the Corporate Award Category. The Public Award categories are entirely decided by the public vote. For more information, visit: www.australianlgbtiawards.com.au for details.

Image: Peter De Waal – photo by Lisa Maree Williams (Getty Images)

2018 Australian LGBTI Award Winners are: 


Brand: SBS

Destination: Vienna

International Celebrity: Conchita Wurst

Ally: Bindi Irwin

Film, TV & Web Series: Orange is the New Black

Presenter: Joel Creasey

Community Initiative / Charity: Sydney Swans

Hero: Kerryn Phelps

LGBTI Celebrity: Magda Szubanski

Marketing Campaign: Airbnb

Music Artist: Beccy Cole

Sports Personality: Casey Dellacqua

Politician: Alex Greenwich

Organisation: Brown-Forman


Diversity Champion: Ross Wetherbee (CBA)

LGBTI Employee Network Group: Australia Post (Post Pride)

Inspirational Role Model: Alan Joyce (Qantas)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter De Waal